Skip to content
St Margaret's Village History
Thousands of historic images & stories from a Kent village
You are here:
Bay Hill from Reach Road pond
Notice the small white hut on Sea Street. This was Henry Sproston's (The Chalet) confectioner and tobacconist. Later the hut was used by engineers of Henry Royce (Rolls Royce) and Charles Rolls. The pond in the ...
Buena Vista (now Tigh-Na-Mara), Sea Street, St. Margaret's at Cliffe
These colour images show 2 prospects of the house that was called Buena Vista. A. G. Elliot and Maurice Olley were members of Sir. Henry Royce's design team and lodged at this property for 3 years ...
Henry Royce in St Margaret's. 1913 - 1917
A brief account of Sir. Henry Royce's move to St Margaret's Bay in 1913. Text from an exhibition panel used in Dover Museum by Christine Waterman A description of his personal traits and his inspiration for better ...
Seaton, Granville Road. 2005
A colour photograph taken in March 2005 of the house Seaton in Granville Road when covered in climbing plants. This 1950s house replaced an earlier one which was destroyed by shelling in WW2 Henry Royce lived at ...
The Chalet In the garden of 'Buena Vista' (later Tigh na mara), Sea Street.
Photograph of the hut in the garden of 'Buena Vista' with the nameplate of 'The Chalet' above the entrance. Here Mr Sproston sold items for the beach to passers by The hut was later said to ...
When Rolls and Royce Made History on Dover's White Cliffs
Fascinating book on the activities of the leading characters in one of the world's most famous companies in the early part of the 20th Century in East Kent. Email us at email@example.com to order a copy £12.99 ...
This site has been generously sponsored by:
Kent County Council
St Margaret’s at Cliffe Parish Council
The Cook Family
Many individual donations from supporters of the Society